top of page
Search
  • Kris Jenkins

My daily routine

Today is my day off for the week, so I thought I would kind of describe what my daily routine looks like starting with shift change when I am getting off. So around 0730 I look for the nurses that will be taking my patients. Sometimes this is up to 4 different nurses. Once I have given all my reports I go to the locker room and peel off all the layers of disposable scrubs and gowns that I am wearing, then I use a Sani-wipe to wipe down all my real scrubs and shoes. I then go to the staffing office to clock out and then run to the shuttle. I hope to make the 0745 shuttle because if not I am stuck waiting until 0815-0830 to leave. Once I get home I have a corner right next to my front door where I strip everything off and throw it in a hamper, I then go straight to the shower without touching anything and take a long nice shower. I then make breakfast and go to sleep. I try to wake up around 1:30-2:00. I then pick something to study for an hour. At first it was all the drips and meds that I had been giving a lot of, then it was other procedures that I may need to assist with. I also am in the early stages of apprenticeship at Salt Lake Fire department, so I have been studying pumping operations. Then I try to get a workout in. The workout is very different than what I am used to. I do a lot of push-ups, squats, lunges and resistance band stuff. I usually workout for about 45 minutes. It's usually good enough to get a sweat and my heart rate up. I then make dinner and get ready for work. My shuttle leaves at 6:15. When we get to the hospital, we go back up to the staffing office where we get our N95 mask, paper scrubs and check in. We then wait in a line to get an assignment for the night. The staffing lady knows me now and usually just looks and me and points and says "9B!!" I then arrive to the unit and take a report for the patients that I am going to have for the night.


For my day off today I did some pretty cool stuff! I went on a walk/run over the Brooklyn Bridge. For some reason I just love bridges and the Brooklyn bridge is probably the coolest one I've seen in person. After my run I continued in the area to the 9/11 memorial which is closed off but you can still see it. I also saw some other cool areas and buildings. It was a nice few hours just to relax and not really have to worry or think about too much.

Pic of another bridge from the Brooklyn Bridge

I love this painting. I walk by it several times a week. Today I noticed this reflection and had to share it





This church is just a couple blocks away from the Word Trade Centers and was a sanctuary for hundreds of people that day.


9/11 memorial

This fire station is across the street from the 9/11 memorial

I walk by this fire station everyday

9/11 memorial. Closed off to the public

420 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summary

bottom of page