top of page
Search
  • Kris Jenkins

Day 2

Updated: Apr 19, 2020



I flew in a day early so that I would have time to unpack and get a good night's sleep before my first day at the hospital. So I had an entire day to just do nothing.. I took 4 different 1 hour or more walks around New York City. It is crazy how quiet and empty the city is compared to when I visited 3 years ago. Below is a pic taken in Time Square 3 years ago and then another taken around the same spot today. It was nice to be able to just get my feet underneath me and prepare myself for 4 weeks of nonstop ICU work. One thing I have been doing is watching


a ton of YouTube videos on ICU procedures and skills. The majority of my experience is in the cardiac cath lab and ER, so the ICU will be an entirely new animal. I was willing to work in the ICU as long as they understood my background and that I wasnt misrepresenting myself. I was told because of my critical care background and having taken care of vent patients that they were willing to hire me. The greatest need in NYC right now is for ICU nurses, so I am grateful that they are giving me this opportunity to help and contribute.




This is Beekman Tower where I am staying




598 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summary

bottom of page