top of page
Search
  • Kris Jenkins

A New Unit

For the first time since I have arrived I worked on a different unit. I worked on the non-covid ICU. The night and shift definitely had an different feel to it than when I'm working the Covid floor and only have Covid patients. I was assigned 3 patients, two of them were intubated and sedated with several drips including pressors. My third patient was not sedated or intubated which is the first patient that I have had that wasn't intubated and/or probably wont need to be. All three patients were septic but all from different types of infections. (pneumonia, VRE and Urosepsis).

There is definitely a different feel and attitude when treating non-covid patients. There is more hope of recovery and chance for improvement. I have became so used to the way that these covid patients look and deteriorate that I almost forgot how sick these other people I was treating are. Even though they are still very sick and hanging to life, there appearance is so much better than what I have been experiencing over the past couple of weeks. The good news for the hospital is that the covid cases are continuing to decrease, but they are going to remain one of the main covid hospitals for the city, so other hospitals are going to start transferring their covid patients here so that they can open back up to normal operations. So I have a feeling the next two weeks will still be pretty busy with Covid patients.

371 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summary

bottom of page